Legends of Benin [1969-1981]

Heavy horns, vocals with real flow, and some real down-home afro-beat hotness. Throw a gritty funk dance party and then all fly over to Benin to meet up with the rest of your friends, the Beninese. From the back:
A collection of super rare and highly danceable masterpieces recorded between 1969 -1981 by four legendary composers from Benin, Antoine Dougbé, El Rego, Honoré Avolonto and Gnonnas Pédro, each one of them with their own distinctive sound. This compilation comes with a 40 page full colour booklet with ultra rare pictures and biographies. Fasten your seat belt and enjoy the mind blowing sound of Benin.
1. Gnonnas Pedro Et Ses Dadjes  - Dadje Von O Von Non 3:53
2. El Rego Et Ses Commandos  - Feeling You Got 3:44
3. Antoine Dougbé  - Honton Soukpo Gnon 7:05
4. El Rego Et Ses Commandos  - E Nan Mian Nuku4:26
5. Honoré Avolonto Et L'Orchestre Poly-Rythmo  - Tin Lin Non 8:48
6. Gnonnas Pedro Et Ses Panchos  - Okpo Videa Bassoruo 3:30
7. Antoine Dougbé Et L'Orchestre Poly-Rythmo  - Ya Mi Ton Gbo 6:34
8. Antoine Dougbé  - Nou Akuenon Hwlin Me Sin Koussio 5:03
9. Honoré Avolonto  - Na Mi Do Gbé Hué Nu 6:44
10. El Rego Et Ses Commandos  - Vimado Wingnan 3:01
11. Honoré Avolonto Et L'Orchestre Black Santiago - Dou Dagbé Wé 4:26
12. El Rego Et Ses Commandos  - Djoblimé 2:31
13. Antoine Dougbé  - Kovito Gbe De Towe 6:39
14. Gnonnas Pedro Et Ses Dadjes  - La Musica En Verité 7:09 
Much love to all four of these legends. My personal favorite sound is Gnonnas Pedro for his driving intro track, Dadje Von O Von Non, and for his wandering, building closer, La Musica en Verité.

Try it out [via Little Vibrations] and then buy it direct from label Analog Africa. Also highly recommended from them: African Scream Contest

No comments:

Post a Comment